Business, Corporate and Investor Services



Samoa, which changed its name from Western Samoa in July 1997, is a group of 9 islands in the South Pacific, east of the International Date Line. At various times, it has been administered by Britain, Germany and New Zealand. Samoa, where English is the language of government and commerce.


Corporate Requirements


1. Chinese character names are permitted and can be included in a company's Certificate of Incorporation.

2. All companies must have a minimum of one director, one shareholder and a secretary. Corporate directors are permitted. 

3. Bearer share certificates are also allowed and shall be held by the trustee company whose office is the registered office of the company. All companies must have a Registered Office and a Resident Agent in Samoa which must be a licenced trust company.


 Law & Taxation


Samoa's offshore corporate legislation was originally introduced in the late 1980s and was based on Cook Islands legislation. However, it now includes numerous enhancements, making it more user-friendly.

Provision has been made to allow the filing of documents and maintenance of accounts by electronic means.